Goal #25: Design decor themes

Standard

The exciting thing about moving into a place we’re not renting is that I can finally put some effort into decorating my home 🙂

Realising my dream of a fully decorated house, however, will be a slow process… For example, when we move into the cottage we’ll be stuck with the paint scheme (pretty though plain) that my parents have chosen. This is to save us the effort and expense of repainting when they eventually move into the cottage themselves. But at least (Lord willing) when we take over the main house, I’ll finally be let loose with a paintbrush!

In the meatime, my decor ideas will be limited to all the finishing touches rather than the walls, carpets or tiles. I don’t mind, though. I can’t wait to start collecting stuff 😀

To help me plan properly, I’ve laid out my ideas in what could loosely be called ‘mood boards’. They don’t have actual swatches of fabric or splashes of paint like proper mood boards would, but they do group colours and elements that will inspire my eventual purchases. (In creating these boards, I’ve also accomplished Goal #25 on my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days.)

I’ve put together the ideas on black cardboard because it brings out the colours, but the actual palette I have to work with is: white ceilings, pink-white walls, purply grey carpets, peachy-white tiles and purply grey doorframes. I’m hoping that that base won’t clash monstrously with the colourful themes I have in mind 😛

First off, the bathroom:

Bathroom: Lavender and lemon

Bathroom: Lavender and lemon

Our cottage bathroom is beautifully light and airy, with large windows that face both east and north out over the garden. That inspired my lavender and lemon colour scheme, to reflect the sunshine and the garden views.

To me, a bathroom also has two main functions: to relax and rejuvenate. The varied purples I’m grouping under ‘lavender’ will bring a sense of calm into the room, while the cheerful zesty lemon yellows should inspire and revitalise us. And of course purple and yellow are complementary colours, which means that when placed together they really make each other ‘pop’!

Although my husband has generously said I can freely decorate the entire house except for his computer/hobby corner, I still don’t want to go overly feminine or floral. It’s important to me that the decor makes him feel relaxed and at home in the space too. So far he seems to like my ideas 🙂

Next, we have the lounge (or living room as you may call it):

Lounge: Robin-egg and rust

Lounge: Robin-egg and rust

This is going to be a fun one to decorate! In the cottage our lounge area is very small, but I’m thinking of the long term too – these themes can also be carried over into the main house one day. So, for this family-oriented space I’ve picked a soft robin-egg blue and a striking rusty orange. Of course, my idea is not to get every item bang on the exact same shade… so the blue includes a range of soft sea-blue and mint-green shades, while the orange items will go from coral to rust to tangerine.

I’m hoping that even though the cottage lounge is small, it will be a welcoming and relaxing space for us and our family and friends. I also trust that the colour scheme I’ve chosen here will make it an area that feels both warm in winter and cool in summer.

In case you’re wondering, in the cottage our open-plan dining area is part of both the kitchen and the lounge. While I don’t expect the kitchen or dining area to have much of a colour scheme (I’m still waiting to see what my folks decide on), I do think I’ll introduce some of my wonderful ratty-themed items into those areas. That will make for an interesting welcome to the house, especially since the entrance door is in the kitchen and the ratties’ cage will be in the dining area 🙂

And finally, the bedroom:

Bedroom: Charcoal and cherry

Bedroom: Charcoal and cherry

I’ve waited a long time to make a beautiful bedroom, so I look forward to this decorating job! Here I’ve chosen a base of charcoal grey to bring a manly and restful tone to the room. Then the feminine side will come in with light cherry-blossom pink, accentuated with splashes of sumptuous winey-cherry-red here and there. The feel of the room should be elegant, private, peaceful and sexy all at once. Hmm! 😀

In this room I can get away with a bit more emphasis on the floral cherry-blossom motif, thanks to my Ninja’s interest in the Orient and especially Japan. It’s going to take some careful selecting to balance the minimalistic Japanese touches with the rich luxury of the boudoir accents, but it’ll be worth the effort, don’t you think?

Well, those are my ideas. It will probably be years before it all comes together like that (if ever!), but at least it gives me a shopping guide and something to work towards 🙂

Do you have cool colour schemes and decor themes in your home?

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: 101 goals for the next 1001 days | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. Pingback: Wonderfully wonky | Sunshine Scrapbook

  3. Wow! this looks like so much FUN! I’m not a decorator at all. In fact, I’ve lived in my house for 9 years and have almost nothing on the walls. when it was time to paint, we hired a woman to paint for us and she was surprised when I asked her to pick out the paint colors. She did a great job and she didn’t even know me. LOL That’s the difference be tween someone who is artistic and takes awesome photos and someone who writes procedures and instructions all day. I love your ideas. I’m sure one day you will have your house in the colors and style you want.

Add your thoughts...

