Flowers for my mother

Standard

The 56th goal on my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days was to surprise my mom with flowers. I crossed off that goal this past weekend, taking my Marzipan a bunch of bright yellow beauties ‘just because’ 🙂

Flowers for my mom

Flowers for my mom

My mom would never say she deserves flowers, and I can’t say we’ve always had that kind of relationship where I’d think of getting her any… but despite our various differences she is a huge blessing to me. This poem reminds me of her:

 

We search the world for truth. We cull

The good, the true, the beautiful,

From graven stone and written scroll,

And all old flower-fields of the soul;

And, weary seekers of the best,

We come back laden from our quest,

To find that all the sages said

Is in the Book our mothers read.

˜ John Greenleaf Whittier, 1807–1892 ˜

2 responses »

Add your thoughts...

