Welcome home party

Standard

Our new ratties are settling in very well so far. Yesterday I threw them a welcome home party with delicious treats… here are a few pics 🙂

Rats and snacks everywhere!

Because they’re still new and very fast and skittish when they’re out their cage, we can’t let them roam freely yet. So their party was confined to the couch. They’re on the go constantly, which means group shots are virtually impossible. Instead, I aimed for individual pics (with their body weights included, for interest’s sake).

Knight – 190g

Moon – 200g

Moon – 200g

Vodka – 220g

And the massive munchkin…

Mishka – 250g

Mishka – 250g

Someone from our rat club actually asked if they were adults or babies, because they’re so big for only 8 weeks of age! An average rat (especially adult females) only weighs between 200 and 300 grams. So I’m sure these are going to grow into huge squishies 😀

I mustn’t have a favourite, and I don’t, because they each have something unique and lovable about them. But I can’t deny that I’m smitten with Mishka as my first dumbo. Those huge ears are ridiculously cute!

Sometimes they make him look all sweet and innocent…

Party 7

Mishka’s “I can do no wrong” look

… and other times they make him look like an evil mastermind!

Mishka's "scheming goblin" look

Mishka’s “scheming goblin” look

:mrgreen:

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: Handsome young bucks | Sunshine Scrapbook

      • He was amazing!! Tail as thick as my thumb at the base (ok ok, I have small hands, another person’s index finger then). He wasn’t even really ‘squishy’, he was just massive. 850g was a perfectly healthy weight for him!
        He was a bit clumsy, but also very clever. Made his own water fountains out of my (unopened) water bottles. Did agility, but then using my furniture instead of props (and praise instead of a clicker and treats). He was a good alpha, really relaxed about the whole thing but don’t fuss with him!

Add your thoughts...

