Bringing home Beastie

Standard

I know. I owe you an update on the major leap of faith I made a few days ago. It’s just been such a crazy week, wow! Nevertheless, I am SUPERBLY happy with my ‘rash’ decision to get this camera :mrgreen:

No regrets! Here’s a little of the unboxing…

Unpacking the beastie

Unpacking the beastie

Although I bought this beautiful camera with the old Nikon 50mm f/1.8 D prime lens (all they had in stock at the time), I had to exchange it the next day for the newer Nikkor AF-S 50mm f/1.8 G lens (and boy am I glad I did!).

Nikon D7100 unboxing

Nikon D7100 unboxing

The new 50mm G lens is far quiter, focuses faster and can focus closer, too. The lens is a bit heavier than the old 50mm D, but it’s the superior choice.

Speaking of weight, the whole camera plus lens is wayyyy heavier than my old Fujifilm prosumer… but I’m already adapting to the way the D7100 feels in my hands. I like the solid build and the fact that the weight helps to steady the camera for handheld shots.

Here it is: brand spanking new 😉 (I hope that’s not just a South African expression, or you might be wondering what I’m talking about!)

Out the box

Out the box

The funny thing about the beastie is that Ninja is more intimidated by it than I am! His hands are bigger and stronger than mine so from that perspective he’s fine, but the plethora of dials, buttons and screens make him nervous. Tee hee hee 🙂

Here’s a pic of the D7100, with the 50mm G lens attached, taken by my Fujifilm FinePix:

A not-so-great shot of a fantastic camera

A not-so-great shot of a fantastic camera

And here’s a pic of my faithful little FinePix, taken by the D7100:

My old camera

Look at that gorgeous bokeh (blurred background)! The 50mm f/1.8 G is famous for this, as well as being beautifully sharp as most primes are. I am very impressed with the results (and so far I’m only shooting in JPEG because I don’t have time to process my RAW files, but I can imagine the RAW will be even lovelier).

Anyway, I’d love to spend hours going into more detail here, but there are plenty chores calling my name this evening…

Will be back soon!

Zest

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: Mouse about the house | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. Yay! 🙂 must have been one of the greatest day of your life when it arrived. my 50 mm lens is my baby (1.8G too!) You’ll love it. Perfect for portraits! So all upcoming pics are being taken with your new camera? 🙂 Have fun with it.
    PS: It’s endlessly cool that we’re experiencing the Nikon fever at the same time 😉

    • It’s absolutely awesome, both the camera and the lens. Yes, all my most recent pics have been taken with the beastie 😉 I agree, so great to meet a fellow Nikon gal. Looking forward to seeing more of your pics 🙂

  3. Pingback: Classic Cars Show 2013 | Sunshine Scrapbook

  4. I AM JEALOUS……There I said it, hahahaha.

    The excitement in your previous post is palpable,I’m sure you’re going to take super great pictures.Enjoy your beautiful beastie and by all means, please indulge us.

    Toodles.

    • Thanks so much. Sorry to be the cause of envy there, hehe, but I can say this beastie is well worth wanting! 😀 I have a LOT to learn still, but it has been amazing so far 🙂

  5. I so love your enthusiasm for your purchase and lack of buyer’s remorse. You made a great decision and it is also an honorable testimony to your passion, maybe even your calling. I too made a very expensive purchase. I bought software that I can use to create educational courses for online audiences. It drained my savings account. My goal is to be able to produce courses for companies who already do that but are overloaded and need help. They wouldn’t have to purchase a new license because I have one and can work independently from home. I’m not sure how it will turn out. So far I have no prospects but if its God’s purpose for me, that will change in a heartbeat.

    • ‘Lack of buyer’s remorse’ – hehe, that’s me! 🙂 It’s exciting making decisions that involve risk and faith; I hope your venture works out even better than you expect! 🙂

Add your thoughts...

