Resisting temptation

Standard

Temptation

Six days left of the 21-day sugar detox, and I’m quite proud of my progress. I’ve managed to avoid sweet and carby temptations for over two weeks now – though it’s not so easy when they get handed to me on a platter!

The cute vanilla and white-chocolate cupcake pictured above is from a work colleague’s birthday tea. My friend and I who are doing the 21DSD each took a cupcake… not to eat but to freeze at home, in readiness for this coming Sunday when the detox ends.

Shew. I haven’t been so close to sugar in weeks. I held it close and inhaled the sweet creamy scent…

But since I’m so close to the end I didn’t want to spoil my good streak. So I snapped a pic and hastily stashed away the cupcake in the freezer.

A marvel of self-control.

:mrgreen:

Seriously though, this detox hasn’t been as hardcore as I expected it to be. In fact, once it’s over I think there are quite a few lessons I can take away and principles I want to adopt on a more permanent basis.

For example, I’ve discovered that I really don’t need sweetener in my tea. With the possible exception of some rather earthy herbal infusions, most of my teas are palatable enough without honey.

I’ve also realised that although carbs do have a place in my normal diet, I can happily reduce the amounts I eat and still feel full. So I can enjoy a warm bowl of oats on a winter’s morning – but it doesn’t have to be a big bowl, or every morning, or sweetened overly much.

I’ve learnt that there are many other fine flavours to be enjoyed other than just ‘level-10 sickly sweet’! So I’ve started looking at sweet treats with new eyes now. I feel drawn to flavourful, healthier, freshly baked, homemade treats rather than store-bought ones packed full of unnecessary extras.

I’ve been surprised at my resistance to my old cravings. I think the beauty of the 21-day sugar detox is that by telling your brain that ‘it’s just a detox, not a diet’, somehow your body relaxes and doesn’t feel so deprived anymore 🙂

On the downside, though, I would be happy not to see meat for the next month. Cutting out carbs has made me increase my protein portions, which isn’t so appealing to someone who was never much of a carnivore in the first place. Hmmm… methinks that once this detox is done, I should give that month of vegetarianism another shot…

10 responses »

    • It was a great idea to do it with someone else, so we can share recipes and hunger pains and encourage each other to stick it out to the end (this coming Sunday… yippee… I’m counting the hours!)

  1. You are GOOD! I have fallen off the wagon and begin to crave bread – I need to start a Bread Lover’s Anonymous support group. What is it about bread that turns me into a weak, vulnerable person? I don’t eat a lot but, when i eat a sandwich, I can’t stop craving it! ugghhh… oh well, back to square one! Keep up the good work! 🙂 ~maria

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement! 🙂 I never thought I’d think of sour green apples as ‘sweet’, but this detox has refreshed my tastebuds 🙂

  2. Wow, good luck on your detox! I know I would need a lot more self control to quit carbs, especially bread. That’s my weakness, nothing like fresh baked bread and butter for me.

Add your thoughts...

