For Father’s Day

Standard

Great dads are a dying breed, it seems. So the ones that do exist deserve a special tribute this coming Father’s Day 🙂

Now I wouldn’t want you to call me a ‘daddy’s girl’ – I dislike that term as much as ‘mommy’s boy’ or ‘teacher’s pet’ – but I really love my dad. He’s an irreplaceable part of my life. None of my friends’ fathers ever made me think, ‘I wish my dad were more like him.’

My dad, who I nicknamed Daz, passed along many of his best traits to me. His love of reading, his care with money, his desire for peace and order instead of chaos. In fact, his perfectionism is so much a part of me that I can make a living from it (as a pernickety proofreader)! Our sense of humour and delight in wordplay are also shared characteristics, so we’re quick to tease. On the other side, our thoughtfulness and moments of melancholy help us understand each other too.

Throughout my childhood, my dad was our reliable rock. We could always trust him to provide for us and protect us, no matter what sacrifices it called for. He adapted to each new stage of his children’s developement and looked ahead to find ways to meet our needs. He spent hours around the house fixing our cars, designing our home security system and repairing whatever broke next. His sensible budgeting and careful spending provided for us more comfortably than we may have realised at the time. You know how it is: kids rarely appreciate the motives behind their parents’ decisions until they grow up 😛

In contrast to the wild go-getters and live-for-your-dream type of men who are admired today, my dad is a different kind of hero. He’s the man in the background who faithfully serves the Lord, meets his responsibilities and cares more about his family than his own dreams or treasures. I’ve no doubt that he has aspirations of his own, but he never chased them to the detriment of his family. And though he may not have said it in as many words, that was his way of showing real love.

Growing up, getting married and moving out from under my father’s roof was bound to bring some changes in my relationship with him. But in his wonderful way, Daz simply broadened his care and concern to include Ninja as well. Instead of interfering in our business, he just let us know that he’ll always be there if we need him. Both Ninja and I have enormous respect and appreciation for this man in our lives.

My dad is well read, smart and gifted in many areas. He’s brilliant at designing practical solutions to problems, and I can recall many happy hours spent chatting with him in his garage while he worked on some or other project. There’s not a spot in my parents’ home where you can stand without seeing evidence of my dad’s hard work around you. He’s made his own tools, serviced vehicles, overhauled engines, sorted electrical wiring, fixed plumbing, painted walls, varnished furniture, tiled floors, hung doors… you name it, Daz our handyman could do it!

All that on top of a full-time job with difficult shift work. And the part-time job of being our school teacher.

Yes, that’s right. In addition to everything else on his schedule, my dad homeschooled my brother and I for about a decade. His shift work allowed for it and his orderly approach was perfect for it. He provided the ideal balance of discipline and reward, and we excelled because of it. Together, he and my mom worked tirelessly to give us the best upbringing they knew how.

So just how do you express enough gratitude for someone who’s done so much for you?

At first I wasn’t sure what gift to get for Father’s Day, but when I saw the old Herbie movies on DVD, I snatched them up:

For Father's Day

For Father’s Day

I fondly remember watching this movie ‘back in the day’ and laughing along with Daz at the funny antics.

That’s just one memory out of countless others in a lifetime of being the very blessed daughter of the very best dad :mrgreen:

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Spring Day feast | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. Pingback: Cannot believe I did that… | Sunshine Scrapbook

  3. Phew.I am honestly moved by this post, and honestly wish I could write with the same fondness about my dad.He isn’t all bad (I am many wonderful things because of him), and I guess I spent all my life trying to understand him.But in my “old” age,with a baby on tow.I realise that I didn’t have to understand him,I just had to love him and appreciate the love emanating from him, however skewly it was portrayed.

    Thanx for an eye opening post.

    • Thank you for the comment. I know many people who are in a similar space with their dads… keep perservering in building the bridges 🙂

Add your thoughts...

