The 21-day sugar detox? I must be nuts!

Standard

Ohhhhh boy. What was I thinking?

Today I began 21 days of no sugar and no carbs – read: pretty much no comfort food of any kind – and I did it voluntarily. In winter. For twenty-one days!

Detox

Day 1 and I feel a bit lost, really.

Me without sugar is like a sunflower without the sun. I run on sugar! Sweet treats are my staple source of glee. At restaurants I peruse the menus backwards, starting with the desserts. And in winter I gravitate towards breads, pastas, grains and rich sauces.

I guess that’s exactly why this detox is a good idea for me 😛

I was introduced to it by a friend at work and we’re tackling it together, so I’ll have support. This is her second time on the detox, which is a good sign: she survived the first one!

The basic premise of the program is that our bodies are clogged up with an overload of unnatural, refined, processed carbs and sugars and that this lifestyle is bringing on mood swings, tummy troubles, weight gain and a host of other unpleasant effects. As the author of the program, Diane Sanfilippo, puts it, ‘Somewhere along the way, we stopped eating real food.’

All things considered, I’ve coped with the first day better than I expected to. Here’s what I’ve nibbled so far:

  • One semi-ripe banana with lashings of full-cream Greek yoghurt, mixed with vanilla essence, pumpkin seeds, coconut and cinnamon
  • Celery sticks with cheddar cheese
  • A carrot
  • Two cups of unsweetened herbal tea
  • A serving of savoury mince with mushrooms and tomato
  • A handful of salted pistachio nuts

That’s a lot of nibbling. And I haven’t even got to dinner yet.

But I am still so hungry! Clearly I’ll have to increase my portion sizes of the allowed foods…

The nice thing about this detox is that dairy is allowed – as long as it’s full cream. Proteins are allowed too, and so are most veggies. The only things I’m cutting down/out are grains, starchy vegetables, fruit and sweet treats. In other words, it’s not total deprivation.

I’ll let you know how it goes :mrgreen:

12 responses »

  1. Pingback: OK, I’m revolting! | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. Pingback: 30 x 30 (x 30) challenge | Sunshine Scrapbook

  3. Pingback: Resisting temptation | Sunshine Scrapbook

  4. Pingback: Sugar-free gluten-free coconut crumpets | Sunshine Scrapbook

  5. Ohhhhh boy what were you thinking indeed????????,I would die with only a rose on my plate (is it even the edible type?) Hahahahahahaha,
    I do hope you lived past the the detox/deprivation and are alive to see your posts.

  6. This is exactly what I needed today. I so badly need to get off bread. I don’t gravitate toward sweets but I never met a bagel I didn’t fall in love with.

    This iPhone keyboard was made for a Barbie Doll. Please forgive typos.

    Jane
    616.581.8321
    http://talkkindnesstome.com

    • I’m the same way with pancakes… But I’ve been without refined carbs and sugar for four days so far, and I actually feel quite good 🙂

Add your thoughts...

