Goodbye sweet Coffee

Standard

So my sweet little girl’s condition only deteriorated over the weekend. The meds did little to help, and Ninja and I spent the weekend preparing our hearts to say goodbye 😦 When I took Flea to the vet yesterday for her op (tumour removals; another story for another post), Coffee went along for a checkup.

The vet said we could try a dose of cortisone for Coff, but that would only prolong the inevitable. It was time to say goodbye and let that sweet spirit return to the Lord who made her with such care. She was put to sleep peacefully and I was able to bury her in my parents’ garden, in a sunny spot near the graves of our previous ratties, Scribble and Muesli.

To celebrate the short but lively life of my Coffeebums, here are a few of my favourite pics of her.

Day one

Day one

From the day we brought the sisters home, Coffee showed herself to be top rat and leader of the mischief – as you can see, she was quite happy walking all over poor quiet Flea!

USB mouse?

USB mouse?

Coffee was incurably inquisitive. Here she was taking a nibble at my USB flash disk.

Loving licks

Loving licks

One of the best things about Coffee was that she was very affectionate (fairly unusual for a girl ratty) and liked climbing on, grooming and being close to us humans.

Pistachio

Pistachio

But… she always wanted things to go her way. In the pic above she was getting frustrated when she couldn’t gnaw her way through a pistachio nut shell. I love that intense expression!

Beautiful Siamese rat

Beautiful Siamese rat

As a Siamese hooded rat, Coffee’s coat faded into lovely markings. When she was but a pinkie, I chose her for her white-tipped tail (she was the only one like that in the litter), and as you can see in the pic above, that little white tip grew with her 🙂

Curious Coffee

Curious Coffee

This ratty brought so much laughter to our home with her forceful nature and boundless energy. She was always getting up to something amusing; I wish I’d had a camera at the ready all the time.

I'll miss that cheeky face

I’ll miss that cheeky face

The pic above is my all-time favourite shot of Coffee, frozen for a brief moment amidst her characteristic rushing about investigating the world. This pic just sums up her personality so well.

Towards the end

Towards the end

What a contrast between her normal pace and verve and the sad and listless behaviour of the last few days! I spent much of this past weekend with her cuddled close to me like this. I couldn’t bear to see her in such pain and confusion.

25.08.2011 ~ 04.06.2013

25.08.2011 ~ 04.06.2013

Goodbye my sweet Coffee, we love and miss you. Thank you for bringing so much joy and warmth to our hearts and home!

Then the dust will return to the earth as it was, and the spirit will return to God who gave it. ~ Eccl. 12:7

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Can you name these rats? | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. Pingback: Rest in peace faithful Flea | Sunshine Scrapbook

  3. Pingback: Ah, now we see! | Sunshine Scrapbook

  4. Pingback: Flea | Sunshine Scrapbook

  5. Pingback: Brave little warrior | Sunshine Scrapbook

Add your thoughts...

