Banana bread / banana muffins recipe

Standard

I know there are a million gazillion banana bread and banana muffin recipes on the net, but permit me to add just one more 😉 Everyone needs a go-to banana bread recipe for when those lovely yellow fruit go ripe before you can eat them all.

I’ve been trying to bake a few homemade treats for Ninja’s and my work lunchboxes, and these banana muffins, made from my mom’s banana bread recipe, worked wonderfully. They lasted a whole week (due to rationing and self-control – not because we didn’t want to eat them all in one go!) and kept well in an airtight tin.

Banana muffins

Banana muffins

Ingredients

125 g butter

3/4 C sugar

2 eggs

4 ripe bananas

2 C flour

1/4 t salt

2 t baking powder

1/4 t bicarb

1/2 C milk

1/2 t vanilla essence

1/2 C pecan nuts, chopped (I didn’t have any though, so I just left these out)

 

Method

1. Grease and line a loaf tin, or line a muffin tray with muffin papers.

2. Cream butter and sugar.

3. Add eggs, beating thoroughly after each.

4. Mash bananas and add.

5. Sift in flour, salt and baking powder.

6. Mix bicarb with a little of the milk and add.

7. Gradually add rest of milk and vanilla essence.

8. Fold in nuts (if using) and pour into loaf tin or into muffin papers.

9. Bake at 180 °C for 1 hour or until knife inserted comes out clean.

Yum!

Yum!

Because they’re made from a bread recipe, these muffins do take a while to bake… but the results are fantastic: a crispy golden-brown crust with a soft cakey centre. Mmmmm 🙂

6 responses »

  1. I hate cooking and baking but you give me inspiration. You put such joy into the task. I made banana bread one day and it was ghastly. I even used a recipe from a book. I’m going to try this. I bet this recipe will be wonderful.

  2. YUM! Just made a cold banana dessert yesterday – I will try this next!
    Have you ever tried it with a tiny bit of cinnamon? We don’t eat nuts or use nutmeg in this house (my son is deathly allergic) but have found cinnamon gives the banana that extra yumminess 🙂 ~maria

Add your thoughts...

