A Mother’s Day tribute

Standard

 

Mother's Day gift

Mother’s Day gift

Tomorrow we celebrate Mother’s Day in SA, lauding those hard-working, nurturing souls who raised us.

I’m generalising, of course.

Not everyone has a loving, present or involved mom. But among those who have been blessed with a dear mother in their lives, I think you’d be hard-pressed to find anyone with a mom as unique as mine 😉

My little mommy is funny, eccentric and devoted. She loves the Lord and serves her family wholeheartedly, but she’s no ordinary old-school housewife. Marzipan (as I call her) is headstrong and opinionated, spontaneous and cheerful. I don’t think I’ve ever met someone who cared less about what other people think of her actions… and yet it hasn’t made her arrogant.

I look back on my childhood and can only laugh. When other kids’ moms were getting manicures, my Marzipan was climbing the local mulberry trees with my brother and I to get the best berries before the birds did! When other mothers were sending their children to all manner of extramural activities, my mom gave us the freedom roam the neighbourhood and play down by the nearby stream (always praying fervently until we returned safely).

My mom grew up on a smallholding near the sea, so she had a vastly different upbringing to her two city-bred kids. And yet she found ways to give us a healthy, adventurous childhood. Some of my favourite memories are of our family hiking together in the nearby hills and my mom teaching us about the plants, birds and creatures in our area. As a trained horticulturist, her love of nature always drew her outdoors – and often us with her.

She also made sure she instilled a spiritual awareness and knowledge of the gospel in us from an early age. She wasn’t afraid to discuss sin and admit her need for a Saviour, which is something I admired her for as I grew old enough to understand these things. And one of the biggest gifts she gave me was the knowledge that I could turn to my Heavenly Father in prayer anytime, anywhere. She showed by example that faith in Christ is a living relationship with Him, not a formulaic or empty religious ritual.

Marzi is also practical, resourceful and hard-working. I didn’t know it at the time, but watching her while I grew up was good preparation for my own time as a housewife years later. She taught me tricks for storing food and stretching a small budget and turning everyday meals into surprise treats. She showed me that housework and housewifedom wasn’t something to be ashamed of; in fact, it was a goal worth striving for because it led to a balanced life.

As with many mothers and daughters, we did go through seasons when we didn’t agree on much. Life is such that while I was going through the throes of adolescence, my mom was battling with the changes of mid-life. We didn’t understand each other so well back then, but we made it through the rocky patches to enjoy the new relationship we have now.

Now that I’m married and running my own home, I can appreciate my mom from an adult perspective. And we’ve become friends, almost sisters, in the way we connect and tune in to one another. We laugh together, we bake for each other, we think of and pray for each other, and we appreciate each other more than ever.

For Mother’s Day I tried to get Marzipan something she really wanted, so I was delighted to find this beautiful tea towel and some very cute ceramic teacup-shaped teabag holders/spoonrests. And don’t you just love that the box is decorated with the same patterns as the towel? 🙂

A gift for Marzipan

A gift for Marzipan

It’s just a small token of my gratitude to the best mommy in the world :mrgreen:

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Mother’s Day tribute with a difference | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. Pingback: What’s hot and what’s not about life in Johannesburg | Sunshine Scrapbook

  3. Pingback: Spring Day feast | Sunshine Scrapbook

  4. Pingback: Cannot believe I did that… | Sunshine Scrapbook

  5. Pingback: 05112013 pre mother’s day ♥ | wanderlust

Add your thoughts...

