Apple crumble to the rescue

Standard

Do you also find that some success stories from the kitchen start out as disasters at first?

That’s what happened with my recent attempt at making oat bars. I wanted to whip up some healthy lunchbox snacks for when I begin working out of the house again next week. So I bought a range of yummy ingredients that I wanted to include, and then spent ages on the internet trying to find a good recipe.

My word. Have you ever tried to find a good oat bar/granola bar/muesli bar recipe on the web? There are thousands and thousands to choose from. There are ones made with egg and there are dairy-free bars. There are soft and chewy granola bars and there are hard and crunchy bars. There are muesli bars that must be refrigerated and those that must be baked. The possible ingredients and combinations are staggering!

In the end, I decided to make up my own mix (which didn’t exactly work, so I won’t give you the recipe here). I used various quantities of rolled oats, coconut, chopped nuts, pumpkin seeds, dried blueberries, poppy seeds, puffed brown rice and honey, syrup, sugar and butter to glue it all together.

My original attempt at an oat bar mix

My original attempt at an oat bar mix

It came out very soft and sticky, not hardening at all. It did taste amazing though!

A delicious disaster

A delicious disaster

I didn’t want to waste all those wonderful ingredients, so I crumbled it up and mixed in some flour and a bit of extra brown sugar.

Rescuing the mix with flour

Rescuing the mix with flour

Then I lined a pie dish with sliced sour green apples (Granny Smith) and added some raisins and spices.

The base of my apple crumble

I also added my crumbled failed muesli bar mix on top… and topped it off with a little sweet wine.

Muesli mix apple crumble

Muesli mix apple crumble

Mmmm… the sweet, spicy aroma filled the house as it baked. I couldn’t wait to see if my patch-up job had worked.

Out of the oven

Out of the oven

The results were fantastic! Crispy crunchy oat crumble on top of soft spicy apples. The toasted pumpkin seeds were a highlight for my tastebuds 🙂

Apple crumble to the rescue

Apple crumble to the rescue

The weather was quite chilly when I made this, so what better treat for a cool autumn evening than apple crumble and custard:

Apple crumble and custard

Apple crumble and custard

I was even naughty and made up two tiny bowls with a sample of crumble and custard for the ratties:

Teeny ratty portions

Teeny ratty portions

They were glad I shared the love!

Nom nom nom

Nom nom nom

Success :mrgreen: I rescued all those lovely ingredients by turning them into something even better. But if those pics have got you drooling, don’t worry – I wasn’t about to leave you without a recipe! Here’s my mom’s fail-safe apple crumble recipe, which I based my rescue recipe on. The pink ingredients are those I added to adjust her original recipe. Enjoy!

Crunchy apple crisp

50 g oats

50 g flour

100 g brown sugar

50 g desiccated coconut

25 g pumpkin seeds

1 T poppy seeds

60 g butter, melted (I increased this to 100 g after adding the extra dry ingredients above)

7 large apples, peeled and sliced (I used 8 large Granny Smith apples)

70 ml sweet white wine (mine was a low-alcohol version, but I’m sure any sweet wine would work)

30 ml water

Ground cinnamon and ground cloves or pimento (I used a generous sprinkling of cinnamon and mixed spice (allspice))

Seedless raisins

 

1. Grease a large pie plate or casserole dish.

2. Mix the oats, flour and sugar with the melted butter.

3. Place half the apple slices in the pie plate.

4. Sprinkle these apples with spices and raisins.

5. Add the rest of the apples.

6. Cover with the oats topping.

7. Pour over the wine and water.

8. Bake for 1 hour at 180 °C.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Crunchy oat and cereal bars | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. Oh my that looks delicious! I can almost smell it! It’s rainy and cold here today. May just try making a batch this weekend if I have time. Thanks! ~maria.

Add your thoughts...

