Spring cleaning in autumn

Standard

It’s been a couple of days since I’ve had the chance to post here… I’ve just taken a long weekend away 🙂 At least once or twice a year I try to take a few days’ break in routine to visit my folks in my childhood home and to get together with my friends. Here’s a pic I took in my parents’ garden:

Leaf

Autumn leaf in a birdbath

It was rewarding to get a little break and spend time with the people I love. I even managed to cross off Goal #94 – Have professional photos taken – as my friends and I went for a mini professional photoshoot together :mrgreen:

Now that I’m back home, I’m expecting the week ahead to be filled with major housework. I hope to get my home sorted out in preparation for the following week when I begin three months of office work. I have a long list of chores to get through, from defrosting the fridge to cleaning the oven (bleh).

But in an odd way, I’m actually looking forward to this. While many of my fellow bloggers from the northern hemisphere are spring cleaning as their weather gets warmer, I’m doing an autumn clean-out before a long and busy winter.

This wave of housework coincides with changing my meal planner from the spring & summer one (packed with salads and summery dishes) to the autumn & winter one (full of soups and comfort foods). I also tend to do my bulk shopping every six months or so, and the time has now come to restock my cupboards with non-perishable items.

All of this also happens to be at the end of the month, when my cupboards are bare and my fridge is empty. I just love it when so many loose ends tie up around the same time! It feels like I’m neatly closing off the past few months and getting ready for the next season of life.

So if you don’t hear too much from me this week, it’s because I’ll be up to my elbows in dirt and detergent.

But I’ll catch you on the flipside 😉

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Host | Sunshine Scrapbook

Add your thoughts...

