Nikon or Canon? Edward or Jacob?

Standard

I’ve been researching which camera to get for my first DSLR, and like everyone I’ve had to face the Nikon vs Canon question. After a while it occurred to me that it’s not unlike the whole Twilight Team Edward vs Team Jacob battle… 😛

Nikon

Edward

Edward

Nikon, of course, is the Edward of the two camera giants, since both:

– have been around for about 100 years (Nikon originally founded in 1917)

– are beautiful to look at (Nikon DSLRs are offered in some lovely colours)

– are competitive by nature (Nikon is always at the cutting edge of technology)

– sparkle in the sunlight (Nikon is known for its excellent glass (quality lenses))

 

On the other side of the fence is Canon, which is like Jacob because they both:

Canon

– are relatively young (Canon began around the 1930s)

– are ‘as easy as breathing’ to be around (Canon always scores highest in ease of use)

– are kind and supportive (Canon is the most user-friendly, family-friendly option)

– don’t come at such a high price (Canon’s offerings are kinder on the budget)

Jacob

Jacob

As with both of the Twilight heroes, both of the camera manufacturers pack a punch and have compelling reasons for being chosen. It’s taken weeks of research for me to make a choice between the two.

Of course I know that these aren’t the only two brands of excellent DSLR equipment out there… but unfortunately in SA we have limited access to certain brands: manufacturers such as Olympus and Pentax hardly have any presence in my country. Because of this, I had to narrow it down to the two ‘big guns’ so that I can buy into a DSLR system that I can readily find in South Africa.

So which did I choose? Well, I know I’ve said before that in terms of Twilight I’m a wolfy Jacob fan… but if you’ve watched Twilight then you know who gets chosen in the end.

That’s right. Edward :mrgreen:

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Goal #52: My one-month photo challenge (Part 4) | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. Pingback: Nikon D7100: I am adrenaline | Sunshine Scrapbook

    • Hehe, sorry 🙂 There’s nothing wrong with Canon; I just prefer the specs on the Nikons. When I do eventually get my camera I’ll be sure to post about it!

Add your thoughts...

