Vanilla shuriken biscuits

Standard

Well, the ninja party was a big hit! Our friends enjoyed the day and my Ninja was blessed 🙂 Now it’s time to share with you some of the fun baking and decorating ideas I used for our ninja-themed party. I’ll start off with the sweet stuff first: the best, crispiest, yummiest vanilla roll-out/cut-out cookies you’ll ever bake! And you needn’t slave over them for as long as I did either… it’s just that I was determined to make them in the shape of shuriken or ‘ninja stars’, as some people call them.

First up, I printed some templates of simple shuriken (which, I later learnt, are more correctly called shaken… but the name shuriken seems to have stuck). I covered the templates with clear tape so that the cardboard wouldn’t be damaged by the oily cookie dough.

Shuriken 1

For the recipe, I adapted a favourite recipe of mine from my mom’s cookbook: it’s originally a recipe for delicious spice biscuits that have just the thin crunchiness I was looking for for my little shuriken. My husband’s palate favours plain flavours, so that’s why I left out the spices to make them vanilla biscuits instead. Here’s the recipe:

100 g butter, softened

1 C sugar

1 egg

2 T milk

1 1/2 t vanilla essence

2 1/2 C flour

1 t baking powder

Shuriken 2

 The method is as follows:

1. Beat butter and sugar together well.

2. Add in egg, milk and vanilla essence.

3. Sift in flour and baking powder. Mix thoroughly.

4. Leave in fridge to harden for 30–60 minutes.

5. Roll out dough thinly on a surface dusted with icing sugar (confectioner’s sugar).

6. Cut out desired shapes with cookie cutters (or a sharp blade, homemade templates and a lot of patience!)

7. Bake on greased trays at 180 °C for 8–10 minutes until light brown, watching the oven so they don’t burn.

Shuriken 3

I soon did away with the smallest templates and replaced them with a small star-shaped cookie cutter that I happened to have. It took ages to carefully cut around my templates, but they looked so cool that I had to keep going – despite the varicose veins I could practically feel forming with the passing hours 😛

I baked a tray, tasted a few when they’d cooled down, and knew I’d found a winner.

Shuriken 4

But I wasn’t done yet. I didn’t just want the shapes to be reminiscent of shuriken; I wanted the colour to be similar too. So out came the silver edible glitter and silvered sugar crystals…

Shuriken 5

I mixed the glitter with a very thin icing sugar–water mixture, and painted it lightly onto the dry biscuits. Then I allowed them to dry completely again before storing them in an airtight biscuit tin. By the way, I’m sure these biscuits would be perfect as vanilla iced cookies, too, although they’re perfectly sweet and yummy as they are.

Absolutely moreish! Our guests devoured these in a flash: everyone loves a crunchy vanilla biscuit. And the great thing is that they kept very well, decorations and all. I made them a week ahead of the party and they were just as fresh and crispy as on the day they were baked 🙂

Shuriken 7

I’ll definitely be making these again, though probably without the intricate shapes and fancy icing. I hope you’ll try them too 🙂

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Grab bootstraps. Pull up. | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. This is what attracted me to your site. This is so awesome. I shared this with a Chef and fellow Ninjutsu student in New Zealand. She loved it. Good job. You’ve made some fans in the Ninja community.

Add your thoughts...

