Easy crunchy ginger nut biscuits

Standard

Omm nom nom nom! These are easily the best ginger biscuits you’ll eat, and so quick to make. The original recipe is here, but I made a few tweaks because I’d rather have more ginger and less of a bicarb aftertaste. Adding more golden syrup than the original calls for also makes the biscuits extra hard and crunchy, which I love. Ninja and I scarfed these in no time!

Ginger biscuits

125 g butter

1 C castor sugar

2 T golden syrup

1 egg

2 C self-raising flour

3–5 t ground ginger

1/2 t bicarbonate of soda

Ginger biscuit dough balls

1. Preheat the oven to 180 °C.

2. Grease or line flat baking trays.

3. Sift the flour, ginger and bicarb together.

4. In a separate bowl, cream butter, sugar and syrup. Add egg and beat to mix.

5. Fold dry ingredients into wet mixture. Mix well to make a uniform dough.

6. Place teaspoon-sized balls on the baking trays, leaving lots of space in between for spreading.

7. Bake for 15–20 minutes or until nicely browned.

8. Leave the biscuits to harden and cool on the tray.

 

Notes

1. I found that 5 heaped teaspoons of ginger gave the perfect flavour, but you can adjust it as preferred.

2. I skipped the step of rolling the dough balls in extra sugar, just to ease my conscience about these treats!

3. If you use self-raising flour, consider omitting the bicarb. Or you could use 2 cups of plain flour and 1 teaspoon of bicarb. I find tweaks like this are necessary because I don’t like tasting more bicarb than ginger.

4. My oven is a cranky old thing, so I can’t give a set time for baking; 15 minutes might do it for most ovens, but I just keep an eye on my baking until the ginger nuts are nicely browned.

5. I found this recipe makes about 40 medium-sized ginger biscuits.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Happy birthday Sunshine Scrapbook! | Sunshine Scrapbook

  2. Pingback: Goal #43 – Just in time for Christmas « Sunshine Scrapbook

Add your thoughts...

